top of page

Educational opportunities

From pre-school to college, there are a wide variety of educational opportunities in Murray County! Several school districts are right in the county, with both a community college and 4-year university within 30 miles of the county seat. 

Murray County is served by a number of public school districts.

Edgerton Public School District is a small, PreK-12 district all under one roof. They serve approximately 365 students.

Fulda Public School is also a small, PreK-12 facility that serves approximately 305 students, with 160 of those in elementary school and the others 145 in the high school.

With both its elementary school and its high school located in the city of Slayton, Murray County Central School District serves approximately 660 students from a number of surrounding communities.

Pipestone Area School consists of two elementary schools and a high school. The district serves approximately 1,000 students in PreK-12.

The Russell-Tyler-Ruthton Public School District has a student enrollment of 541 students. The school district has three buildings-RTR Elementary School serves 224 students in K-5, RTR Middle School serves 146 students in grades 6-8, and RTR High School serves 200 students in grades 9-12.

The Tracy Area Public School District is comprised of an elementary school and a high school. The elementary school provides education to approximately 280 students in PreK-6, and the high school serves approximately 365 students in grades 7-12.

The Westbrook-Walnut Grove School District provides students with a comprehensive Preschool-12 education. The elementary school in Walnut Grove serves approximately 180 students in PreK-6, and 140 students in grades 7-12 in Westbrook.

There are also private school options available with the Chandler Christian School and the Edgerton Christian Elementary for students in PreK-8 and the Southwest Christian High School for students in 9-12.

minnesota west logo.png
SMSU logo trans.png
bottom of page